Storing Wool

DSC00016

Yesterday I realized that my Farmec 181 grain hopper box would make a perfect storage bin for wool.  It is roughly 120 cubic feet/100 bushels…10 feet long and 6 feet across.  I scoured it out…

DSC00019

Today I cut a plywood top, painted it, attached sides as a way to secure it and protect against water infiltration. I sealed all openings with silicone.  I transferred all wool into it.  Then I covered the wool with a plastic sheet which overhung the bin.  The top was set in place.  I then placed another plastic sheet over the top and tied this all down with a tarp.  It is insect-proof and water-tight.  I may add a screen on one end and a small fan at the other for aeration in the future.

DSC00001

DSC00003

DSC00007

DSC00009

DSC00011

DSC00012

I will look for other hopper bins that are for sale for reasonable prices…

