A Word About My Weaving Teacher

There is a point in loading the rear roller of a loom when tension needs to be kept on the thread/yard. In order to accomplish this the weaver need only put a simple knot in the warp on the breast beam. That’s what is seen here in the video, but it’s not the reason why I shot this more-than-brief scene. I shot this sequence to highlight the beautiful nature of my mentor, Susan. Both she and her husband are artists…retired now, but still deeply involved in various art communities. Really wonderful people who walk with others as they learn. Comprehensive knowledge. Practical. Compassionate. Deeply hospitable. I am just so fortunate to have her for my weaving mentor. There’s no doubt in my mind that I could read a book and figure out wool, spinning, and weaving…but why? Doing hands-on teaching rounds out the experience into something truly human that actually does appropriate service to the activity itself. Words are good, but fall short of the actual doing of actual art. You can describe art with words, but you can teach art without any words, and the art itself is of course, sheer expression in its own right. Deep calling to deep. Here’s just a brief snippet of our time the other day.  There is no substitute for a good teacher…

