Building A 45″ Raddle

Today I put together a raddle for my 45″ floor looms.  Our local cabinet shop had a 48″ long, 2″ x 2″ piece of clear maple.  My total cost was $28.00…list price for a Leclerc is $70…

DSC00031

I ripped the board in half, lengthwise – 2, 1″ x 2″ boards – and planed them.  Then I lightly penciled a line with a square down the entire length of the board and hash marked it at 1/2″ intervals.  I dimpled these hash marks with a nail.  I added a fence to my drill press and drilled out the holes that are a little smaller than the 3″ common nails.  The wood is not drilled all the way through…

DSC00032

Cutting off the heads of the nails the remaining stubs are sanded and smoothed.   The nails are lightly hammered into place.  The opposing block of wood is drilled with holes twice as large as the nails to ease fitting.  And the raddle is given its first treatment with boiled linseed oil…

DSC00035

The finished raddle…

DSC00034

