Home-Made Tension Box

This is a home-built tension box that came with our power loom; it will work just as well with our floor looms if they have a sectional warping beam.  Half inch oak plywood sides are joined by 3/4″ (i.d.) galvanized pipe.  The pipe is secured by driving in the nuts from 1/2″ bolts into the ends of the pipe and then secured to the plywood from the outside with 1/2″ bolts and washers (1/2″ nuts have a diametre slightly larger than 3/4″).  There are eight pipes on the top level and two on the lower level and mounts for reeds at either end.  It is well built…

DSC00042

Today I disassembled it and cleaned it, steel wooling the pipe, sanding all wood, and routing a finished edge onto the plywood.  Then I oiled it with linseed oil.  I will give some thought to what sort of legs I want on it.  I am very pleased with this result…

DSC00015

DSC00016

